Call for Distinguished Service Award

Dear ACHENJ Members,

Each year, ACHENJ recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution or has an impact on healthcare in New Jersey and the field of healthcare in general, with the presentation of ACHENJ’s Distinguished Service Award.

  • Eligibility: Individuals Eligible for the Award are educators, healthcare administrators, researchers, clinicians (including physicians, nurses, etc.), business leaders, community volunteers or legislators. Individuals may receive the award posthumously. The recipient does not need to be a member of ACHENJ.
  • Personal Qualities of Eligible Individuals: Innovator, altruistic, change agent, creative, visionary, insightful
  • Performance Criteria: Enhance or improve health care services, healthcare delivery, healthcare quality, healthcare education, healthcare professionalism or the quality of community life.

ACHENJ will present the award winner at our annual meeting on June 1, 2017 in the evening at Johnson & Johnson Corporate Center, New Brunswick, NJ.

To nominate a candidate for the award, please submit all nominations by March 31, 2017 to Jeffrey Egnatovich, ACHENJ President-Elect, via email:; Nominations must provide a detailed description citing specific examples, as to why the individual is being submitted for consideration of this award. A committee of previous recipients will make the final selection.

Former Distinguished Service Award honorees have included:

Ø  2016 Anne M. Hewitt, PhD, MHA Program Director, Seton Hall University
Ø  2015  Michael A. Maron, President and CEO, Holy Name Medical Center
Ø  2014  William A. McDonald, Past President and CEO, St. Joseph’s Healthcare System
Ø  2013  Leslie D. Hirsch, FACHE President, Saint Peter’s Healthcare System
Ø  2012  Elizabeth A. Ryan, Esq., President and CEO, New Jersey Hospital  Association
Ø  2011  Barry H. Ostrowsky, President and CEO, RWJBarnabas Health
Ø  2010  John K. Lloyd, FACHE, President and CEO, Meridian Health
Ø  2009  Gary Horan, FACHE, President and CEO, Trinitas Regional Medical Center

Leave a Reply